Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 22nd, 2010

 

Lesson #1: It is critically important to taste test your product before serving it...sometimes this must be done over, and over, and over before being absolutely sure.

Whenever I get together with my friends Tori & Justin for a dinner party, Haley, their adorable two year old, excitedly requests to be my right hand woman in the kitchen; carefully helping to put the finishing touches on whatever dessert

Auntie Carol & Haley showing off their finished product

I’ve made for the evening.  We frost, caramelize, bake, slice, serve – you name it – she even gives me creative suggestions such as to add colored sprinkles to an otherwise dull chocolate cake to jazz it up a bit…I absolutely adore her.

So it should come as no surprise that when asked what Haley wanted to do while at Auntie Erin’s house for our Girls Night (while Justin & Tori attended Wine Down Wednesday at Town), her answer was “bake chocolate chip cookies!”  Done and done.

Last night Haley donned my great grandmothers apron and helped me assemble the spaghetti pie for dinner, and while that was in the oven, a batch of oh-so-delicious chocolate chip cookies for dessert.  I’m not gonna lie, I let her lick the spatula more than a few times during the process, but hey, what are good aunties for if not to spoil the little ones left in our care at least a little bit!  Everything was super yummy and Carol, Haley and I had so much fun together bonding over good food and Toy Story 3 that Haley requested we have Girls Night again very soon…anything for my little baking protege.

Read Full Post »